Weekend Update.

Hi friends!  It was recently pointed out to me that I’ve been “slacking off,” so I wanted to share some recent excitement (beyond the joy I felt upon finding out someone reads my blog).

Last week I realized I’m basically a toddler: any time I get off my sleep or food schedule, I break down.  It’s not one of my nicer traits, and I try to keep Mr. Hyde in check with nearly constant snacking.  It was the sleep that got me this week, so on Friday night I nested.  One bowl of soup, half a bottle of wine, and four episodes of Game of Thrones later, I felt cured.

On Saturday, I walked along the South Platte River with a friend, commiserating about working too much and working out too little.  Next up was a baby shower, where the soon-to-be parents found out they’re having a boy (congratulations!), followed by a half hour wandering around The Source, which reminded me of a clean, spacious Brooklyn.

The Source Denver

Then I joined my fellow Hoosiers to cheer on the Pacers, who were playing the Nuggets.  It was the first time I’d ever cheered for the opposing team, which is a strange experience.  I kept wanting to cheer along with the crowd, until it became ingrained to automatically boo when everyone else cheered…which made me feel much more confrontational than usual.  When I went out to grab a beer, I ran into a couple guys I went to college with – ironically, one of whom I ran into on Rockies opening day.  We all behaved very responsibly, and I wasn’t at all hungover on Sunday morning.*

Pacers vs Nuggets

We won…in our imagination.

Sunday morning, when I woke up feeling fresh as a daisy, a few of us drove out to Leadville to cross-country ski.  It was a beautiful day spent gliding across the snow, and I felt so lucky to know those people and be in that place.

Cross-country ski

We’re halfway to Sochi.

After a few hours of exploring, we packed up and headed back to the city, and I didn’t freak out at all while driving home in snowy ski traffic when my windshield wiper fluid ran out.**  [I’m cautiously optimistic that my friends still like me.]

Next weekend promises to be just as much fun – some awesome friends invited me to join them at their ski condo in Silverthorne, like a real Coloradan!  I’m going to take a lesson in downhill skiing at Breckenridge!  There’s a hot tub!  And then the Broncos are going to win the Super Bowl!

Hope you all had a great weekend – you’ve already made it through Monday, so it’s all uphill from here (or…you know, downhill if you’re in Breckenridge…).  Go Broncos!

*This is not strictly true.**Neither is this.

Leave a Reply

