By the Numbers.

Happy Sunday, friends!  Hope you’re having a better day than the Colts are thus far (fingers crossed for a second half comeback!).

It has been such a nice weekend: on Friday I stayed in and made a delicious dinner of wheat pasta with kale and tomatoes, and I ate it at my new little dining table while drinking Cabernet Sauvignon and listening to The Moth Radio Hour.  I felt very grown up.

Yesterday I was invited to attend the 2013 gala for Operation TBI Freedom, a Rocky Mountain Human Services initiative that helps veterans who suffered a traumatic brain injury.  It was moving, and it made me want to volunteer.  This afternoon, I took my friend to brunch at Snooze to celebrate her move from NYC to Denver, and we had coffee, eggs, and SO MANY PANCAKES.  Oh, and she had a mimosa, and I enjoyed a Bloody Mary.

Snooze brunch

OMG PANCAKES!

But possibly the coolest thing I did all weekend was this morning’s session with my numerologist.  (Well, she’s really my mom’s, but I borrow her from time to time.)

For those of you not familiar with numerology, here’s a brief overview as I understand it: you provide your full given name as well as your birth date, and she works up a chart based on those digits.  From that chart, your numerologist can see elements of your personality, your current challenges, and what cycles you’ve been in and are headed towards.

I’ll admit that I’m biased towards mystical stuff, but this woman has helped me be kind to myself and move forward during some challenging times, so whether or not it’s “true,” it’s beneficial for me.

Most of what she said is too personal to comfortably share (much as I love you all), but I will say that I listened to her with tears drawing mascara trails down my cheeks, forgiving myself for a few things.  I’m going to follow her advice to meditate and take better care of my body and soul, which seems like sound advice regardless of your cycle.

She also shared awesome words of wisdom – highlights below:

  • Life is an adventure to be lived, not a problem to be solved.
  • Stop thinking in terms of right and wrong; start thinking in terms of happy and unhappy.  If it makes you feel happy and connected to your higher self, do that.  If it doesn’t, try something else.
  • Nature is your church, and you need to go every day.
  • Follow your soul, and expect the unexpected.  It doesn’t have to make sense.
  • It’s your job to plant the seeds, and God will decide which ones get the sun and water.

I wish you all a week filled with unexpected and wonderful adventures that feed your soul.  I feel refreshed and ready to start planting some seeds, and I can’t wait to see which ones bloom.

Wildflowers

 

3 thoughts on “By the Numbers.

Leave a Reply

