Take a Hike.

Based on what I’m hearing from family and friends, everything east of Colorado is an inferno, but here in Denver, it seems like we’re getting our annual rainfall in one shot.  The highs this past weekend were in the 90s, and then we abruptly dropped into the 60s with flash flood warnings.

In hopes of luring back sunny summer weather, I thought I’d post about two recent outdoor adventures.

Every city has something its residents are passionate about to the point of competitiveness, and outdoor adventure activities are at the top of the Denverite list.  When you tell people you recently moved to Colorado, one of their first questions is to ask where you’ve been hiking.  It’s embarrassing when, 10 months in, your answer is still “well…I went once…right outside of Golden…”  Thankfully, I’ve started to catch up these past few weeks.

On Labor Day weekend, a few friends and I packed a picnic and drove down to the Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs.  While the hike wasn’t strenuous, the views were legit.

Garden of the Gods

Garden of the Gods

Garden of the Gods

Colorado’s version of Pride Rock

Siamese Twins

Siamese Twins

This past weekend, two friends of friends (who are now my friends, too!) from Baltimore were in town, so I tagged along with them to a Rockies game and hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park.  It. Was. Amazing.  We meandered through Wild Basin, hopping from stone to stone in clear mountain streams, looking out over valleys crowded with pine trees, and cooling off in the spray from waterfalls.

Coors Field

Go Rockies!

Rocky Mountain National Park

We disregarded TLC’s advice.

Rocky Mountain National Park

Ain’t no mountain high enough.

I still can’t believe that I get to live in a place where this stuff is an easy hour-and-a-half drive away.  For all the white guilt I experience when thinking about our expansion across this country, I’m glad that I have a life that allows me to explore the majestic Rocky Mountains.

Next stop: a fourteener!

Rocky Mountain National Park

3 thoughts on “Take a Hike.

  1. Pingback: Yosemite Wedding. | Rocky Mountain Hi

  2. Pingback: Happy Anniversary. | Rocky Mountain Hi

  3. Pingback: Kool-Aid. | Rocky Mountain Hi

Leave a Reply

