Happy Memorial Day.

Happy long weekend, friends!  I hope that wherever you are, it’s sunny and you have a BBQ to attend.

It has been a truly lovely weekend in Colorado.  On Saturday, a few friends and I ventured up to Boulder to explore the festival there in preparation of the BolderBOULDER 10K.  There are about 50,000 participants in this 10K, which ends in the stadium at CU, and people come in from all over the world for the race.

Carnival rides in Boulder

The festival had live bands, carnival rides, and delicious fair food.  I broke down and tried the cookie dough tent’s fare, and it turns out eating a bowl of cookie dough at a sleepover when you’re 11 is a lot more fun than eating a bowl of cookie dough in 80-degree heat in the tail end of your 20s.  I didn’t barf, but it was touch and go for a minute.  Since it was in Boulder, the booths at the fair included “gentle chiropractic adjustments” and handmade leather moccasins that wouldn’t look out of place on Legolas.

cookie dough

[A few words about Boulder: spending time in that city makes me equal parts annoyed and ashamed.  With my conservative Midwestern upbringing, I can’t help but roll my eyes at the long-haired hippies with their weird dancing, compost bins, and stringent traffic laws that overly favor pedestrians and cyclists.  But then I feel guilty because I love the environment, too!  I recycle!  I support dancing to your own beat!  Who am I to get judge-y because I don’t approve of their “packaging”?  It’s a complicated set of emotions.]

We ended the day with a drink at a rooftop bar overlooking the Flatirons, where we made friends with two middle-aged Scottish couples [read = I practically tackled them as I professed my love of their country and demanded that they all look at my thistle tattoo] who were in town for a wedding.

Yesterday, another friend and I biked from her apartment in the Highlands along the Cherry Creek trail down to Wash Park, where we parked on a blanket with a little picnic and enjoyed the sunshine and people watching.  It was a glorious day.

Wash Park Denver

Ironically enough, it’s easy to forget the origins of this holiday, so I want to add a quick note of gratitude to all the men and women who have served and given their lives for our nation.  There would be no festival for cookie dough-loving hippies if not for you, and I am thankful to have that freedom.

Enjoy the Monday off from work!

Leave a Reply

