The Sun has Risen.

Happy Easter, friends!  I hope you all did something fun, or at the very least, ate some candy.  I did plenty of both.

I’d heard great things about the Easter Sunrise Service at Red Rocks, and even when nothing’s going on, Red Rocks is awesome, so I set my alarm for 3:45 a.m.  After only one snooze I hopped out of bed, made some coffee, packed an egg sandwich to go, and put on a million layers, because it is chilly in the foothills at 5 a.m.

When I reached the turn-off, there was a line of tail lights in the dark.  We slowly continued towards the parking lots, hundreds pulling blankets from their trunks, clutching their travel mugs of coffee, and hiking up the ramp to the amphitheater.  By the time I reached the seats, they were three-quarters full of people gathered together in the pre-dawn cold, waving friends to saved seats, tearing foil off their breakfast burritos, and commenting on the choice of hymns listed in the program.

Red Rocks Easter - pre-dawn

At 6 a.m., the service began with a call to worship followed by a hymn (someone should really let these Red Rocks people know the acoustics at their place are fabulous), and then they released a flock of doves!  It was a beautiful moment – the man next to me cried.

As the service continued, the sky slowly began to lighten.  A band of orange began to grow just above the horizon.  Jet streams became illuminated by the sun that had yet to appear.  Birds began to chirp.

Red Rocks Sunrise Service

Suddenly, people stood and began to clap – the sun had appeared!

Red Rocks sunrise

As the sun crept into the sky, its rays illuminating row by row, we were invited to sing the Doxology.  Singing “Praise God from whom all blessings flow” with the other 11,000 attendees felt incredibly appropriate.  The sermon focused on “Amazing Grace,” and how truly amazing this whole Easter business is.

Red Rocks Easter Service

Then I had brunch with my cousins, made brownies, and went to Easter dinner at my neighbors’.  I had two amazing meals that I didn’t have to prepare, and both contained ham.  WIN.  And now I think it’s time for bed before I start getting even loopier than usual.

Easter at Red Rocks

Have an amazing week!

2 thoughts on “The Sun has Risen.

  1. This sounds amazing. Also, I love everything about this paragraph
    “At 6 a.m., the service began with a call to worship followed by a hymn (someone should really let these Red Rocks people know the acoustics at their place are fabulous), and then they released a flock of doves! It was a beautiful moment – the man next to me cried.”

Leave a Reply

