Wise Words.

Hello, friends!  Yesterday, I took my six-year-old cousin to Boondocks Fun Center.  For my Indiana people, it’s like a Great Times.  There’s an arcade indoors, along with laser tag and a bowling alley, and the outside area has go-karts and bumper boats.

As a kid, I loved these places – my 12th birthday was at Great Times.  [This was also the birthday my parents allowed me to get cornrows.  At the mall.  In case y’all didn’t know, I am Caucasian and blonde.  It was not my best look.]  As an adult, this “fun center” gives me a new level of empathy for my mom when I used to drag her into Abercrombie – there’s music blaring, and teenagers are everywhere.

Despite the sensory overload, I was struck by something my little cousin said soon after we arrived.  He was basically doing laps around the arcade but not playing any games.  He finally paused, looked up with his concerned little face, and said, “there’s just too much fun here.  I don’t know where to start!”

Wouldn’t it be wonderful to move through life that way?  Absolutely amazed at all the cool stuff around you?

Life has plenty of sad and difficult stuff, but I’m going to try to focus on the fun stuff.  Thankfully, Colorado makes that pretty easy.

CO landscape

Leave a Reply

